March 15

What is it about dice?

Well, I’m back from Lleida / Lérida after a TESOL-tastic weekend!  I’ll be putting up some of the ideas I picked up during the two days – thanks to everyone for all their great workshops and talks.
Today’s post is based on a chat I was having with Ceri Jones on the train on the way home as my own talk was on speaking actvities for teens.  When I was planning the talk, I didn’t really notice that the majority of activities were board games but then Ceri pointed it out and we started to talk about what it is that makes board games so enticing.
I think that primarily board games have a visual impact.  When I hold up an envelope with conversation cards, I think their first reaction is an unenthusiastic groan; but when I hold up a board game, there’s a little Mexican wave of excitement!  Also, the competitive nature of board games plays a factor, although at times it overtakes the linguistic content.  And finally as well there is the kinasthetic aspect which makes the activity more dynamic and interactive.


Posted March 15, 2010 by Teresa Bestwick in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “What is it about dice?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*