October 27

Wordy Wednesday #14

boxI love activites which give students scope to introduce their own ideas, activities which make them “think outside the box” and for which there are no wrong answers.  I played a game this evening with my FCE class which I’ve played before with lower levels and all students find it just as difficult.

Show students a picture and ask them to write a sentence about it, but say that they can’t include a certain letter.  Make sure it’s a letter which immediately springs to mind when you first look at the picture; for example, if there’s a picture of someone swimming, say the forbidden letter is “s”.

What activities do you use to get students thinking outside the box?


Posted October 27, 2010 by Teresa Bestwick in category Wordy Wednesday

2 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday #14

  1. David Warr

    That’s a nice activity, I can imagine it’s difficult. I’ll try it out. I’ve done something similar but with regulating words. It’s a competitive game. I’ve got lots of pictures in my hand, cards actually, like your red and blue ones but with a picture on each, and 3 words that mustn’t be said when describing the picture. Two teams. I describe a picture, long-winded, slowly giving away bits of important information. Even if they guess quite early on (I’ve mainly done this with children), I carry on until the whole room is screaming the word. (It can get out of control!) Then I give the point to the first one who gave it. This can also cause aggravation. Once I’ve done a few, I get learners to take it in turns to describe 3 or 4 pictures each. They really enjoy hearing a learner say the right word but knowing they can still carry on describing.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*