October 20

Wordy Wednesday #13

I’m sure you all know by now that I’m a HUGE fan of professional development and believe that we should all get as much as possible (without overdoing it).  It will soon be the next ACEIA conference in Sevilla, which is a day-long event with the opportunity of seeing five talks from some great speakers, on a wide variety of topics.

I love days like these, filled to the brim with input, though it does leave you feeling rather drained and overwhelmed with information.  When I think back to all the development sessions which I’ve been to at previous conferences, there’s one thing which sticks in my mind…Mario Rinvolucri’s TPR activity to practise irregular verbs – a whole hall of English teachers touching their toes, tummies and heads as they chanted, “Begin, began, begun.”

What one image most sticks in your mind of all the development sessions you’ve attended?


Posted October 20, 2010 by Teresa Bestwick in category Wordy Wednesday

2 thoughts on “Wordy Wednesday #13

  1. Steve

    Jamie Keddie’s Grammar Sketches in 2007, which I am still using today.

    Gillie Cunningham’s opening Plenary on memory in 2008.

    And watching Teresa Bestwick for the first time in action, 2009. Great stuff.

    I also remember that first coffee break every year and people watching.

    This year I am interested in seeing some psychology related stuff and anything to do with using the internet in my class.

    See ya later x

    Reply
    1. Teresa Bestwick (Post author)

      Thanks for the comment, Steve. I didn’t see Jamie’s talk…though I’ll definitely watch him at some point. When I was at TESOL-SPAIN I heard him referred to as the “Brad Pitt of TEFL”!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*