January 12

Answer it!

I’ve just seen a great idea for a game to practise specific grammar points with upper-intermediate and advanced students on the TEFL.net website.  It’s sounds like a very simple game, though I would imagine it could turn out to be quite challenging!
Imagine that your students are practising the present perfect and explain that every question that they are asked, they must answer with that tense in a logical way.
What did you have for dinner?  I’ve just eaten a very tasty pizza.
How long does it take you to get to school?  I’ve never checked!  But it’s probably about ten minutes on the bus.
If you hadn’t come to class today, what would you have done instead?  I’ve never missed a class though today I wanted to watch a film on TV.
Or with the passive.
Do you like pizza?  Yes and the best pizza I’ve ever had was made by my uncle in his restaurant.
What are you going to do this weekend?  A party in the countryside is being organised by some friends.
Admittedly, it’s not the most natural way to respond to the questions, but it’s a good laugh to see what the students come out with!


Posted January 12, 2010 by Teresa Bestwick in category Grammar Activities

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*