November 17

Psychic Teacher

I read about a great activity to use with young learners, though for the life of me at the moment I can’t remember where it’s from!
At the start of class, ask students to name items in a certain category: food, animals, adjectives, regular verbs, etc.  As they say each word, pretend to write it down on a slip of paper, though in actual fact, you’ll be writing the same word on each slip.  Fold up all the pieces of paper and then ask a student to pick a piece and unfold it, without saying the word.  Explain to the class that you can “see” the word on the piece of paper and then magically guess the word correctly.  It’s a great way to revise vocabulary and they’ll be really motivated to show the words they know.
N.B.  I tried this with a class of teens as well – and it worked quite well, I had a couple of them believeing I was psychic – then one let the cat out the bag!


Posted November 17, 2009 by Teresa Bestwick in category Vocabulary Activities

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*