May 15

Loud Spaniards

When it comes to listening, in all honesty, Spaniards don’t have good role models. When you watch the morning chat shows – whether it be a serious debate about politics or two C-list celebrities arguing about the love life of a famous bullfighter – nobody listens to the other person. Unfortunately, family gatherings are often quite similar : there are always at least three conversations going on at once which vary in volume from loud up.

Often in the classroom, students can’t understand why I get annoyed if they carry on their conversations whilst I ask one about his weekend.

“But we were whispering.”
“I’ve just got to tell him this one thing…”
“I wasn’t talking!”

I don’t know whether it’s a similar problem in other countries…let me know.


Posted May 15, 2009 by Teresa Bestwick in category My thoughts

4 thoughts on “Loud Spaniards

  1. Anonymous

    Hello, I read your post in eslprintables and I decided to make a little trip to your blog. I read some post and you have a really nice review of different topics, take care and congratulations I hope so have my own blog, I hope so we will stay in contac. by
    … and sorry my email: rivera.roem@gmail.com. By.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Wordy Wednesday #15 | Views from the Whiteboard

  3. Guido

    This happened in Brazil: four aunts of my wife were visiting (i.e. total 5 Brazilian women). Three of them were talking.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*