November 12

The Edublogs Awards

ebawardlogoFor the seventh year running, edublogs is celebrating bloggers, twits and other education professionals around the globe with the Edublogs Awards.  For more details on how to nominate and vote, visit their website.

Here are my nominations for the 2010 Edublogs Awards…

Best Individual Blog

This is by no means an easy choice, but one of my favourite reads is Spencer’s Scratchpad.  I love John Spencer’s view of the world, commented on through his own experience and as seen through the eyes of his own children and his students.  I admire the way he is “there” for his students, giving them the opportunity to learn in their own way and at their own pace.

Best Use of Visual

Again, not an easy choice (I feel I may be saying that about all nominations though, so I’ll stop repeating it from here on in!).  If you haven’t already seen this blog, check out Language Garden now.  David Warr’s blogging adventure combines language and art in a simple yet inspiring and effective way, providing food for thought for you whilst his artwork is a great resource to use in your classes.

Best Use of a PLN

Hands down, my nomination for this is Kelly Tenkely’s Blogger Alliance.  By joining the second Blogger Alliance, I was made much more aware of other bloggers out there and I could subscribe easily to the blogs I liked and found useful.  I must admit, I’m fairly bad when it comes to commenting, but whilst I would love to make my Google Reader list shorter, there’s so much I’m afraid I’d miss out on!

Best New Blog

Danny’s blog, Kringlish Kids, gives you a chance to get away from dogme, testing, objectives, grammatical structures and the like.  It’s a welcome reminder of why we love what we do – our daily interactions with students and the variety of personalities we meet.

Best Resource Sharing Blog

English Teacher Melanie is packed full of resources for your students and is regularly updated with grammar titbits, podcasts with work on vocabulary and other activities your students can use for self-study.  She also has a channel on YouTube where students can watch videos related to different topics.

Lifetime Achievement Award

There was a bit of a running joke during the World Cup about the speed at which Sean Banville was able to produce a four-skills lesson.  It seemed that no sooner was a match over, than he had posted a very complete lesson about it on his site Breaking News English.  He prepares topical lessons and I think he deserves to be recognised for his continuing contribution to teachers around the world.


Posted November 12, 2010 by Teresa Bestwick in category My thoughts

5 thoughts on “The Edublogs Awards

  1. Pingback: education blogs and news « Surprisesaplenty's Blog

  2. ktenkely

    Thank you so much for including the blog alliance! I so appreciate your nomination. I have to second your nomination for Spencer’s Scratch Pad. Excellent blog!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*