January 22

Teaching students to swear!

I must admit, I’m a bit prudish when it comes to bad language and I think it’s generally unnecessary.  Unfortunately, it does seem to be what foreign students most want to learn and the vocabulary they remember most easily!  So whenever I get asked how to say a swearword, I give them a “softer” alternative and tell them to look it up in the dictionary.
We had quite an amusing situation in class the other day during a game of hangman, when one of the students had chosen “jerk” as his word.  One pair had guessed the letter e, and the next person to play was on the same team as the student who was at the board.  The student writing coughed “jerk” to give the word away to his friend, but his team mate unfortunately misunderstood and started saying in L1, “Why are you calling me a jerk?  T, he just called me a jerk!”  Whilst the rest of the class, myself included, were in fits of laughter!

Tags: ,

Posted January 22, 2010 by Teresa Bestwick in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*